A WINNER!! Marc Swanson of Summit Educational Services in Seward earned 2nd place in the 2014 National Interpretation Award competition for the video series This is Now, That Was Then.  The videos were created as a 12-part series for KMTA’s elementary curriculum program. Judges found the series to be “engaging,” “entertaining,” and “educational.” The Seward City News recently featured an article about the series.

Seward residents had an opportunity to see the videos at a community premier in March of this year. Nearly every one attending asked for a copy of the program. For more information click here.

Welcome to the Kenai Mountains-Turnagain Arm National Heritage Area

America’s 49th state is now one of 49 National Heritage Areas across the Nation. The designation of Alaska’s Kenai Mountains-Turnagain Arm as a National Heritage Area recognizes this geographic corridor as a place that offers a unique contribution to the fabric of our country. From the glittering waters of Resurrection Bay to the breathtaking Chugach Mountains along Turnagain Arm, the Kenai Mountain-Turnagain Arm Corridor cradles one of the most interesting regions of Alaska history. The Corridor encompasses a distinctive landscape of mountains, lakes, rivers and fjords. The area is located in a region that runs north/south from Bird/Indian to Seward. To the west, the area includes Cooper Landing, Sunrise, and Hope. To the east lie Portage, Whittier, and the clear blue waters of Prince William Sound. (map) The Kenai Mountains-Turnagain Arm National Heritage Area is a place whose valleys and mountains, communities and people tell the larger story of a wild place and a rugged frontier. Come journey through an Alaskan landscape that is rich in natural, cultural, historic and scenic wonders. National Heritage Area designation confers no authority to manage or regulate land use in any way.